TRAVEL INFO ABOUT GRAZ, AUSTRIA - VHO


english version deutsche Version magyar változat versione italiana
English Deutsch Magyar Italiano


Vienna car rental

Vienna | Graz | Innsbruck | Linz | Salzburg | Baden bei Wien | Murau | Klagenfurt | Eisenstadt | Bregenz

Graz

Tourist information, pictures, and hotels for Graz, Austria


Graz Graz is located at the Eastern part of Central Alps, and it is divided into two parts by the River Mur. You can find highlands generated from limestone and slate on both sides of the Mur's valley. The 1446 m high Schöckl also rises here.

About Graz
Graz is the second largest city of Austria with a population of about 290 000 people. Graz, capital of Styria province, combines a great modern life and historical architecture in a beautiful mix of past and present. The city has 6 universities, so student life keeps the city vivid and "up-to-date". This mixes well with one of the most preserved old towns in Central Europe, providing an excellent destination for tourists from all over the world. The city of Graz became a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Site in 1999, and it was awarded the title of the Cultural Capital of Europe in 2003.

History
The name of the city possibly derives from the Slavic word "gradec", which means a small castle. The city might have served as a fort. Later, the city became an important commercial and cultural center, and the residence for many Austrian aristocrats. The Jewish heritages of the city were destroyed by the Nazis, but a small group of Jews came back to the city after World War II ended and were partially compensated by the city with the building of a new synagogue. Graz was luckily not destroyed heavily during the air strikes of the Allies in the second stage of the war, preserving the buildings of the inner city.

Transportation
Graz is approximately three hours south of Vienna by train, and two hours by car. You can easily get along in Graz without a car. There are several bus and tram lines in the city. If you are arriving by train, you can get from the train station (Hauptbahnhof) to the city center by one of the tram lines. In addition, some of the buses operate during the night as well on weekends. University students live a "busy" life during the weekend nights.

Monuments
The Old Town: strolling through the Old Town, one can admire the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque and Secession style buildings. Looking down from the Schlossberg, you can see the roofs of the houses, romantic streets, beautiful Italian palaces and houses with their inner gardens.

The Schlossberg: this 474 m high, small, green hill with its clock-tower is one the landmarks of Graz. If you are in Graz, you must see it. Schlossberg commands the best view over the brick-roofs of the city. The enormous figures and the inverted clock hands make similar impression. You can get to the Schlossberg on the 260 staged Schlossberg stairs. If you do not want to go on foot you can travel by the Schlossberg railway or you can get to the Schlossberg by an elevator.

If you are a tourist in Graz, you definitely have to see the following monuments: Hauptplatz (Main Square), Rathaus (City Hall), Domkirche (Graz Cathedral), Franziskanerkirche (Franciscan Church), Herz Jesu Kirche (Heart of Jesus Church) and Schloss Eggenberg (Eggenberg Castle).

What else can you do in Graz?
Graz is the ideal destination for plenty of reasons. You can go for an easy day trip into the countryside from Graz. There are lots of museums, monuments, but you can go hiking or hot-air ballooning, too. If you choose to visit during autumn, you must see the Steierischer Herbst (Styrian Autumn) festival, which is all about art, music and literature.

For your stay in Garz, we recommend the following hotels and pensions:

1. Grand Hotel Wiesler***** A true grand hotel for the demanding travelers.

2. Hotel Augarten**** Design hotel with contemporary interiors, fits well into the atmosphere of the city.

3. Hotel Gollner**** The best family-run hotel in Graz. You will surely feel at home here.

4. Hotel Daniel*** Near the railway station, within walking distance of the historical center.

5. Pension Altstrassgang*** Lovely pension with low room rates.




Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz

City/region features:

* Schlossberg * Schlossberg railway * House of Arts * Clocktower * Opera * Dom and Mausoleum * Eggenberg Castle * City Hall * Castle * Market * Hofgasse * Orangery/Botanical garden * Mur Island * Arsenal * Mansion * Sporgasse * UNESCO World Heritage sites * Luegg * Carillon * Saurau Palace * Sackstrasse * Universities

5 and 4 star hotels in Graz | 3 star hotels in Graz | 2 star hotels in Graz | Apartments in Graz


Vienna | Graz | Innsbruck | Linz | Salzburg | Baden bei Wien | Murau | Klagenfurt | Eisenstadt | Bregenz

Bad Kleinkirchheim | Kitzbühel | St. Johann in Tirol | Zell am See - Kaprun | Latschach | Sankt Pölten



www.vho.at | Contact us

Email: viennahotelsonline@gmail.com
Tel: +43 1 253 0033
Fax: +43 1 253 0034

All rights reserved.

REISEINFO ÜBER GRAZ, ÖSTERREICH - VHO


english version deutsche Version magyar változat versione italiana
English Deutsch Magyar Italiano


Autovermietung in Wien

Wien | Graz | Innsbruck | Linz | Salzburg | Baden bei Wien | Murau | Klagenfurt | Eisenstadt | Bregenz

Graz

Tourismus-Informationen, Bilder, und Hotels für Graz, Österreich


Graz Graz liegt am östlichen Fuß des zentralen Teils der Alpen. Die Stadt wurde von Mur in zwei Teilen geteilt. Nördlich von Graz, an beiden Seiten der Mur gibt es ein, aus Kalkstein und Schiefer gebildetes Bergland. Hier befindet sich auch den 1446m hohen Schöckl Berg.

Graz ist mit 290 000 Einwohnern die zweitgrößte Stadt der Republik Österreich. In dieser Stadt können wir die Charaktere der heutigen modernen Zeiten, so wie die historischen Baumeisterwerke auffinden. Die Stadt verfügt über 6 Universitäten, so ist sie eine richtige Studentenstadt. Graz ist eine der beliebtesten mittel-europäischen Stadt in der Geschickte liebenden Touristenkreisen. Im Jahr 2003 stand Graz im Mittelpunkt des Interesses von europäischen Menschen. In diesem Jahr hat nur Graz den Titel "kulturelle Hauptstadt Europas" bekommen. Die viele kleine Einzelheiten der Stadt wirkten so auf dem UNESCO-Experte, dass sie die Grazer Altstadt als Teil der Welterbe anerkannt haben.

Historischer Einblick
Die Stadt hat Ihr Name Dank eines slawischen Wortes ("gradec") bekommen, es bedeutet ein kleines Schloss. Die Stadt funktionierte damals wahrscheinlich als eine Festung. Später ist Graz für ein wichtiges wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Zentrum gewachsen. Sowie hat sie für zahlreiche österreichische Aristokraten Heimat gegeben. Die Juden könnten sich mit mehrere Architektonischen Meisterwerke brüsten, doch während der Kriege haben sich die Bauwerke gründlich beschädigt. Nach dem II. Weltkrieg könnten die Juden einige Gebäuden wiederherstellen. Graz ist glücklich, weil während des II. Weltkrieges keine schwere Verletzungen erleidet hat.

Verkehr
Graz liegt mit dem Zug und mit dem Auto ca. 3 Stunden Fahrt von Wien entfernt. Im Graz ist Autofahren kein Problem. In der Stadt sind auch mehrere Bus- und Straßenbahnhaltestellen zu finden. Wenn Sie mit dem Zug in die Stadt einreisen, können Sie vom Hauptbahnhof mit einer Straßenbahn die Stadt einfach erreichen. Weil Graz eine Studentenstadt ist, sind die Nächte am Wochenende lebhaft und verkehrsreich.

Denkmale, Sehenswürdigkeiten
Die Altstadt: Während ein Spaziergang in der Altstadt, können wir romanisch-, renaissance-, barock- und Jugendstil Gebäude bewundern. Aus dem Schlossberg haben wir wunderschöner Anblick für Dächer, romantische Strassen, wunderschöne italienische Paläste, die Häuser und Innenhöfen der Stadt.

Der Schlossberg: der 474 m hohe, kleine, grüne Berg mit dem Uhrturm ist ein charakteristisches Merkzeichen von Graz. Wenn Sie im Graz sind, besuchen Sie es unbedingt! Vom Schlossberg hat man das schönste Panorama auf die roten Dächer der Stadt. Die riesigen Zahlen und die aufgewechselten Uhrzeichner haben ähnlicher Eindruck. Wir können über 260 Treppen auf dem Berg gelangen, dazwischen können wir das Panorama bewundern. Wenn Sie nicht laufen möchten, haben Sie die Möglichkeit mit der Schlossbergbahn oder dem Schlossberglift bequem auf dem Berg zu kommen.

Als Tourist müssen Sie unbedingt noch die folgenden Sehenswürdigkeiten anschauen: Hauptplatz, Rathaus, Grazer Kathedrale, Franziskanerkirche, Schloss Eggenberg, Herz Jesu Kirche.

Wie können Sie Ihre Zeit in Graz verbringen?
Graz kann aus mehreren Gründen ein idealer Ort für Touristen sein. Graz ist ein richtiges "Ausflugparadies". In der Umgebung kann man unvergessliche Ausflüge machen. Sie können zahlreiche Museen, Denkmale anschauen, doch Sie können sogar das Bergsteigen oder die Ballonfahrt ausprobieren. Wenn Sie im Herbst nach Graz kommen, können Sie das Steierische Festival anschauen, welches über Kunst, Literatur und Musik geht.




Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz Graz

Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Stadt/Region:

* Grazer Schlossberg * Schlossbergbahn * Kunsthaus Graz * Grazer Uhrturm * Opernhaus * Dom und Mausoleum * Schloss Eggenberg * Rathaus * Burg * Bauernmaerkte * Hofgasse * Palmenhaus/Botanischer Garten * Murinsel * Landeszeughaus * Landhaus * Sporgasse * UNESCO Weltkulturerbe * Luegg * Glockenspielplatz * Palais Saurau * Sackstrasse * Universitaeten

5 und 4 Sterne Hotels in Graz | 3 Sterne Hotels in Graz


Wien | Graz | Innsbruck | Linz | Salzburg | Baden bei Wien | Murau | Klagenfurt | Eisenstadt | Bregenz

Bad Kleinkirchheim | Kitzbühel | St. Johann in Tirol | Zell am See - Kaprun | Latschach | Sankt Pölten



www.vho.at | Contact us

Email: viennahotelsonline@gmail.com
Tel: +43 1 253 0033
Fax: +43 1 253 0034

Alle Rechte vorbehalten.